Friday, November 29, 2013

Happy Runnerversary!!!!

Today is my Runnerversary!  On this day, 1 year ago, I started running and training with Amber, Jocelyn, and Ami.  I've been able to change, learn, and grow so much in this year!  The most amazing thing out of all of this is that I've stuck to this and haven't quit!!!!  Not quitting 3 weeks into it is a HUGE accomplishment for me.  Something I'm proud of is at the end of this year, I will be able to say that I ran 13 races in 2013!!!  My final race of the year will be the Expedition St. George 50-mile relay race, next Saturday!  It has been an amazing adventure!  I can't wait to see what this year holds for me!


(I've got a long ways to go still but, there is definite improvement!)

Monday, November 25, 2013

Post-Marathon Feelings, Etc.

When we got home from the marathon, the first thing I did was find the couch and land there!  It felt good just to lay down and get my feet up!  I didn't even bother to take my shoes off yet.  I just wanted to relax and breathe!  Then, we started to figure out what we wanted to eat for lunch!  I was STARVING and wanted beef!  So, Mike and my Dad left and went on a hunt for some beef for me, ha ha!  They got back and had brought me a 6-dollar burger from Carl's Jr.  I couldn't wait to eat!  Except, I didn't even finish my hamburger, which surprised me!  I thought I would down that sucker, no problem.  So, after I finished lunch, I just laid on the couch for the longest time!!!!

Nancy Lisonbee stopped by, on her way home, and brought me some doughnuts!  Yummy!  I am a sucker for doughnuts so, I welcomed the treat!  I wasn't up for having one so, I hid them so they kids wouldn't get to them before I had a chance to make the first pick, ha ha.

I finally got the nerve to take my shoes off and my compression socks.  I was avoiding this because I knew there was some nastiness going on with my feet, from the blisters.  So, I began to unlace my shoes and that HURT!  My feet were very tender, sore, and raw!  I finally got my shoes off.  Next came the compression socks.  I knew this was going to hurt.  It's a BEAST of a job getting the compression socks on.  Now, I needed to take them off.  They didn't come easily and the closer I got to my foot, the more my foot stung and hurt!  Mike wanted to take them off for me but, I couldn't let him.  I had to be in control of taking them off.  It was hurting so very bad and I knew it was like a bandaid; I just needed to rip it off quickly.  So, I did!  OH! MY! GOODNESS!  The pain I felt was AWFUL!  One of the blisters had popped during my run.  It was one of the bigger ones.  Well, it had leaked onto my sock and dried there.  So, when I ripped the sock off, it reopened that blister and took off skin with it!!!  It was awful!!!!  Mike went and got my "Blister Bag" so that I could Dr. my blisters.  I ended up having 8 blisters on my feet and toes.  This was a record amount of blisters than I had ever gotten before.  So, I careful popped the rest of my blisters, cleaned all of them, put medicine on them, and then bandaid the heck out of my foot.

After I finished cleaning my foot, I moved back to my position on the couch. General Conference's 2pm session began so, we started to watch that.  After that was over, my Mom and Mike went and took a nap.  My Dad and I watched football, and eventually he fell asleep too.  Corie took a nap and the other kids played outside and with their toys.  I tried to take a nap, since I had been up since 3am but, I was still couldn't fall asleep.  I think the adrenaline was still pumping.  Finally, around 5pm, I decided I would go shower.  I'm sure I'm smelled like death!  I was scared to get in the shower though!  Having water/sweat hit open wounds is SO PAINFUL!  I knew my feet were going to feel that pain, as well as the other open cuts I had on my body, from the normal wear and tear of a race.  Sure enough, as soon as I stepped into the shower, the stinging/deep pain hit!  It took my breath away.  I cried for about 5 minutes,when the pain was finally gone from the water washing away the sweat and cleaning out the cuts and blisters.  Then, it actually felt good and relaxed my muscles.  After my shower, I put on my St. George Marathon shirt, my finisher medal, and some relaxing capri-sweats.  I climbed into bed and ahhhhhhh, it felt so good!!!!  My Mom came in and talked to me a little bit and then told me to go to sleep, and she would play with the kids.  So, I tried to go to sleep.  It was hard though because at this point, my feet were throbbing and on fire.  My leg muscles were also tense, aching, and screaming at me.  I couldn't really relax enough to sleep.  So, I got up and went out to chat with my Mom.

By the time 9pm rolled around, I was VERY READY to go to bed.  My feet and muscles still hurt but, I didn't care.  I needed sleep by then.  So, I went to bed before everyone else.  I fell asleep fast and slept hard as a rock!  Mike took this picture of me, when he came in to go to bed:
What can I say?  I'm one proud mama!!!!  I love this medal and would probably wear it 24/7, if I could!

The next 3-4 days were pretty dang sore for me!  I was glad to not live in house that has stairs!!!!  Just sitting down anywhere, or bending over, was killer for me!  I would have to do the 1-2-3-sit! method most of the time!!!!  For the first week, I didn't run or go to the gym at all.  I was burned out and needed some recovery time.  The first time I ran/exercised after the marathon, was the following Friday, I think.  Or maybe it was Monday?  Anyway, I met up with Jocelyn and the Amber's to run the Mayor's Loop.  I thought I was good to go.  I was WRONG!  Oh my!  That run was so awkward, uncomfortable, and SLOW!!!!  It took me a really long time!  I did it though.

After that run, I knew it was time to hit the gym again.  I had to get back into the swing of things.  So, off to the gym I went........

From the moment I crossed the finish line and got home, I was sad the marathon was over.  Right after the marathon, I wasn't sad about the running part being over.  I was good with that part being over.  However, the excitement of it all over and that was sad for me.  All the months of training, mentally and physically, prepared me for this race.  It was the most EXCITING thing to cross that finish line, to say I completed that marathon.  Along with all that training came friendships!  I loved getting to know new people and sharing in this experience with them!  The anticipation of the day was a fun part of it too!  It was such an adventure!  Now it was over and I was sad.  I felt that post-race depression for a good week after the marathon.  I just felt so sad that it was all over.  I've had quite a few people ask me if I'll do another marathon.  Up until that day, the answer was a definite no.  It's funny because there's a few people who seem almost disappointed in me for "only" doing one.  However, now that the marathon is over, I find myself wanting to do it again.  I know that I could do it BETTER and even faster!  My plan is to run the St. George Marathon again in 2015.  Why not the 2014 one?  That one is mostly for my family's sake!  We really want to go camping next year a lot and get away more.  With training for the marathon, that won't happen.  So, next year I'll focus on smaller races and keep my running going. Before I run another marathon, I need to make some improvements.  The main one is lose a lot more weight!  There's no way I'll do another marathon this size.  I don't recommend for anyway.  Losing weight will help me be faster and feel better on my runs.  I also think that will help me not get the blisters I usually get.  The other thing I need to improve on is my endurance level and being able to run further, consistently, without walking.  Until the time comes to start training for that marathon, I look forward to all the races in between now and then.  Not only that, but all the changes I will see in myself before then!

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

St. George Marathon - PART 4 - Crossing the Finish Line!!!!

The arches in my feet were REALLY hurting me!  Heck, my feet were just done and over this whole Marathon thing!  However, I kept going and going because I knew at the end would be my family and friends that were there to support me!  About 4 blocks away I spotted Amber B. coming towards me!  I was so happy to see her!  She's really good about pushing me and not letting me stop or throw in the towel.  So, I knew she'd be an awesome boost for me.  Coming up to 3 blocks away from the finish line (the corner of Main St. and 300 South) I could hear someone screaming my name!  



Of course, I still had no idea who it was.  Luckily JJ was there to help me out!  It was my bestest friend, Nicky, and her AWESOME sister, Amy!!!!  They were there with signs, screaming, yelling, and so full of energy that I didn't have!  Ha ha!  Nicky ran over to me and I just hugged her as hard as I could!  I was SO HAPPY to see her! 

My foot was really bothering me again and I decided to take one last stretch before finishing out the marathon.
After I finished stretching, we all started to run...Nicky included!  It was SO FUN!  



The next person I saw was my Dad!!!!!  My Dad is my hero and I really look up to him and have so much respect for him!  My Dad has been a HUGE support through this whole experience!  Granted, when I first made the phone call to tell him that I was doing the marathon, he was pretty skeptical about it.  He admits that he didn't really have any expectations in me doing it.  He just kind and nodded and smiled.  I can't blame him though!  It's understandable.  However, he soon realized that I was serious about it and I needed him.  So, after every long run on Saturday's, I would call him or he would call me.  We would discuss how the run went, how I could've done better, how it felt, etc.  He was really my therapist during this whole thing!  So, it was so important to have him there!  Just knowing he was at the finish line, picturing and know what he would say, helped me through!  So, of course I had to run over to him.  I remember a memory popping in my head.  It was when I was in 5th grade, running The Wellsville Mile.  Back in the day I wasn't fast by any means but, I could hold my own.  I remember running The Wellsville Mile and as I was rounding the corner, by the school, to make my 2nd lap, he jumped out from the crowd and was SO EXCITED for me and cheered so loud!  My Dad was much the same this time!  He was pumped and excited!  He also knew I just needed to keep going because I was tired so, he just urged me forward and cheered me on!

As we neared the 2-blocks-away mark, Nicky dropped back and headed to the bleachers.  Brittney then told me they were going to drop back also because they had already finished and were going to let me go in.  So, off I went!  I was full of adrenaline and just started going as fast as I could go.  It wasn't the fast sprint of all time but, it was the only sprint I had left in me!

Entering the orange chute, to head into the finish line, was the most exciting experience for me!!!!  I started a little too fast, too soon.  I could feel my stomach coming up into my throat and I wanted to puke!  Then I heard Brittney yell something to the effect to keep pushing and don't give in, just keep going!  So, I dug deep and kept pushing through!  


I think THE COOLEST part was when I heard they say over the speakers, "Laura McGinnis, of St. George, Utah!!!!!"  That was SO AWESOME to hear and really made me emotional!!!!  I could hear my brother-in-law, Shawn, yelling and screaming for me!  That was a fun surprise for me!  I didn't expect to see him there, as he has been in Michigan, going to Law School! I could hear others around me yelling but, didn't see who they were!  I just knew that finish line was right there and I wanted to get there!

Very near the end, just feet before I was about to cross the finish line, Connor popped out from the fencing/blockade to cross the finish line with me!  I had forgotten I told the kids they could come out and finish with me, if they wanted to!  So, when Connor came running it melted my heart and it was so fun to have him running by my side!

Crossing that finish line was a wonderful, amazing, exciting, relieving, REWARDING moment for me!  I DID IT!!!  To know I finished and finished strong was AWESOME!  To stop, bend over, and let them put that beautiful, hard-earned medal on me, meant THE WORLD to me!  It felt so surreal!  I am so proud of that medal.  

After receiving my finishers medal, I headed over to the misters, to cool off and just breathe!
One of the first things I realized, after I finished, is how GOOD I felt!  Of course, my feet were all jacked up and I was scared of what I'd find when I took the shoes and socks off.  Other than my feet, I felt REALLY GOOD!  I honestly felt full of energy and just SO HAPPY!!!!  I'm sure it was all adrenaline but, I was just happy at how GREAT I felt!  A lot of times, after a race, my stomach is sick and I'm pooped but, not this time!  This time I felt awesome!!!!  

I waddled my way over to see my family and friends after that!  I was so excited to see all of them!  I want to document the people that came to see me finish or were there to see/help me finish (if I forgot someone, please tell me):
Mike, Connor, Rylie, and Corie
Dad & Mom
Mike's Dad & Mom
Shawn, Stacey, Ireland McGinnis
Chelsey Eaton
Mikenzi McGinnis
Nicky Garcia
Amy Johnson
Pete, Nancy, Preston, and Michael Lisonbee
Travis & Amber Sheffield
JJ & Brittney Farmer
Jason & Tera Schatz
Amber Blair
Jocelyn Sackett
Dustin & Kendra Tollefson
Sam Hill
Brittany & Alliyah Staheli

I COULDN'T wait to get over to see my family and friends!  They all made me feel like I was a superstar! I saw all the fun signs they made! They were snapping pictures and it made me feel like a Queen!  They were all so excited and happy and I could feel their love and support!  It meant so much to me to see all of them there!!!!!  I don't think I could put into words how much it meant to me!!!!  Each of them have played an important roll in me getting to this point and I love each of them for it!





After pictures, I got a chance to hug everyone and just enjoy the moment.  It was so memorable and just so fun! Soon after that, I decided it was time to take a load off my feet!  After the marathon, they have it set up that you can go into the park and get food, pictures done, massages, pick up your clothes-bag, etc. but, I didn't have it in me to walk into the park.  My upper body would've but, my feet had gone to bed and were in a state of rigamortis!  I knew that some of my other friends were in the park and I wanted to go talk to them but, I just couldn't.  So, a couple people (I can't remember who now, ha ha) helped me over to the corner and sat me in a chair.  Mike left to go get the car.  As soon as I sat down I just breathed a big ahhhhhh!  The kids were so cute!  They came over and were shading me with signs that were made for me!

Nicky and Amy were nice enough to go into the park area and get my clothing-bag as well as get my ice cream for me, which they did the ultimate sacrifice and ate it for me!  Ha ha!  

Soon Mike arrived with the car.  I got up to go and hobbled over to the car.  I found myself feeling sad.  I didn't want to leave and for this whole thing to be over.  However, I felt happy and good about what I had accomplished and I knew I did the best I could and I felt so happy in that!
________________________________________________________

So, on October 5, 2013, I completed the St. George Marathon!!!!!  I finished and completed what I set out to do!  If I had known what I was getting myself into, what I would experience and go through to accomplishment, the feelings I would have, and everything that goes with it, I don't think I would have done it!  The person I was BEFORE all this began didn't believe in herself enough to do it!  Not once in my life had I carried out such a tedious and intense goal!  Thank heavens I had someone (Amber Blair) who believed in me from the get-go and knew I had the potential in me to complete this goal!  I was able to lean on her for confidence, when I didn't have it in me to think I could do it.  She may have been the only one at the time, who kept saying and pushing for me to do this!  I am SO GRATEFUL that she put it out there for me to do the marathon!  I am SO GRATEFUL for all the effort, time,and commitment that she put out to get me started, on track, and helped me see my goal and dream through to the end!  Amber has done SO MUCH to help me out and still continues to help me!

There are SO MANY influential people that have helped me in this journey!  My husband and kids have REALLY been through this....good times and TOUGH times!  They have really sacrificed so much, by allowing me to train and do all the races.  This year of training has taken away our Saturday's, for the most part!  I've also been exhausted, sore, and sometimes too worn out to do a lot of things.  My kids have been SO SWEET and have been excited and always ask how the gym went!  The cutest thing is when I have come home from races with a medal on!  You'd think I had won gold at the Olympics!  They jump around, scream, and yell, "Mommy, you won!!!!"  They want to wear the medal and are SO PROUD of me!  That makes it all worth it!  I'm also grateful for my parents, Mike's parents, and the rest of our family!  Sometimes they would help babysit kids, if Mike was out of town.  Or just call to see how training was going!  Even if they all couldn't come to see me race, they all were there in my heart, cheering me on!

 I have to also thank Jocelyn!  She has been with me from the start of this too!  At first we were just two people wanting to learn how to run, change our lifestyle, etc.  Through this we have become close, amazing friends and I just love her to death!  She's been extremely positive and loving and SUPPORTIVE!  When I wanted to give up, she kept giving me reasons to keep going!  I am so proud of her and how far she has come and how much she's accomplished!  She is quite the awesome runner!

A shout out to Amber & Travis Sheffield too!  I cannot begin to express how much it meant to have them with me on the entire marathon route on the day of the race!  I love them for being there and helping me to keep going and to not give up!  I appreciate Amber MAKING me talk out my feeling, concerns, and frustrations so that I could get them out and move on from them!  It really shows what kind of people they are, to put aside their own abilities and desires and to help me along!  Amber has also been there to buoy me up throughout this experience!  She's also been my physical therapist/taping expert on the last few races I've done!

A big thank you to the Farmers!  These 2 are SO AWESOME!  They have always checked up on me, offered support from calling me on the phone during a run, running with me, prepping me before a race, going shoe shopping with me, gave me advice on nutrition and fueling, and mentally helped me get my mind into a good, focused place, and coming back from the finish line to find me and make sure I'm ok!

I have AMAZING friends that have been there for almost EVERY race or to give me strong encouragement!  The Tollefson's have been at many of the same races I have been in as well!  They stuck around for every one of them and was there to see or help me finish!  The fun one was the Bryce Canyon 1/2 Marathon, when Dustin came and helped me get my butt in gear and finish that beast of a race!  Dustin and Kendra have been AMAZING and so positive and motivating.....even with all my rants and whining that comes with me!  Then, of course, there is Nancy and Cheryl!  These 2 have been HUGE cheerleaders for me!  They've listened to me talk over and over and over about my running and racing and have been excited and supportive and eager to help the entire process!  They've been to races to cheer me on and that means the world to me!!!!  I realize it is a big sacrifice to come to my events and be there but, not once have they (or anyone else) made me feel like it was a burden or too much to ask of them!  I appreciate that SO MUCH!  Nicky has been a HUGE supporter too!!!!  Months and months ago she told me she would come down to see me finish the marathon.  Nicky lives in SLC and has 2 kids so, life is busy for her!  For her to make that sacrifice FOR ME made me feel SO GOOD!  Having her here was SO FUN!!!!!  I love my BFF! :-)

I wish I could name EVERY PERSON who has helped me in one way or another!  So many people have reached out in support for me, and you know who you are! From every comment, text, phone call, to even simply "Like"ing my MANY throw-up-of-posts on Facebook! 

My ward has been SO AWESOME!!!!  SO MANY come up to me on Sunday morning to see how my practice run went, to see when my next race is.  Or they come up and tell me how good I'm looking or how proud they are of me!  I don't know if they realize it but, each person that said one thing or another to me, to support or help me, really touched me and helped me out!!!! 

 Even beyond that, I had people reach out to me from my hometown, from my mission, from Michigan, from Facebook, and I even made running-friends/family along the way that would check up on me and offer support and help!  I am SO BLESSED!!!!  I feel SO LUCKY to have so many wonderful, special, loving, caring, and supportive people in my life!!!!!  I love ALL OF YOU, seriously!  Nothing you have said or done to help me through this has gone unnoticed!

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

St. George Marathon - PART 3 - The Beginning of Running the Marathon Up Until 5 Blocks Before the Finish Line!

As I started the race I felt fine.  Of course, I was cold.  I had on 2 layers, as well as gloves with hand warmers inside of them.  It was still pretty dark outside but, not too bad.  I didn't look around much.  Mostly just focused on one foot in front of the other and concentrated on my breathing.  Like I said in my previous post, people were passing me left and right.  I was passing people too but, with so many passing me and so fast, it was a little tough mentally.  I just kept going though and tried not to think about it too much.

One thing that was so neat to see and watch the entire race was the sea of runners!  It was SO COOL to see swarms of runners, making their way up and down the route to the very end!!!!
From this point on, some of the stuff I remember is vague, as far as where exactly it took place on the marathon route.  So, I'll just guess as I go (Amber Sheffield, if you remember more, you can help me out).  Somewhere around mile 2 or 2 1/2 miles into the race, Travis & Amber Sheffield found me.  I cannot tell you how RELIEVED I was to see them.  Amber could tell I was frustrated and was really good about getting me to talk it out and cry it out.  I instant felt a boost, seeing them and having them next to me!  I didn't even dare ask if Amber would or could be staying with me through the race.  I was hoping but, didn't want her to feel obligated or pressured.  So, I just was so grateful for the time she was with me.  So, on our way we went.  I was feeling better and refreshed.  The first 6 miles of the race were new territory for me, so that helped the time go a little faster for me. Soon near mile 7, we got to the town of Veyo.  People were so excited and happy and cheered us on.  I remember seeing an ambulance ahead of me and said to myself, as I was running, "Just run until you get to the ambulance, then take a break and walk a bit."  I soon realized that the ambulance was moving at a slow, steady pace so, I wouldn't actually get to the ambulance, ha ha.

After the town of Veyo comes the dreaded Veyo hill.  Previous to the marathon, I had only trained on Veyo hill twice.  The first time I hyperventilated, threw up, and had a horrible run.  The 2nd time was with the Farmer's and was a much better experience because JJ and Brittney helped me to focus on my breathing and keeping that in check so I didn't burn all of my energy out on the hill.  We started up the hill, and this is where I think the distance on my watch got messed up.  Usually when I trained up Veyo hill, I would go on the left side.  Well, this time I went on the right side.  I really think that made it longer and messed up my watch (as well as weaving to different sides of the road along the route a couple times), causing my watch to say I was .15 further than I really was.  That messed with my mind too.  So, Travis and Amber were with me as I started up Veyo hill.  Amber need a potty break so, she ran up the hill to use the bathroom so that as she was coming out, I would be caught up to her.  So, Travis stuck with me on this part.  Travis is a ball of energy, if any of you don't know him!  He has energy and excitement to spare!  So, as I'm trudging up the hill, looking like a dead horse, he's cruising and bouncing around, just happy as can be.  During the race I wanted to hurt him, ha ha but, honestly I admire those qualities and the face that he could stay happy, perky, and excited the entire time.  He was so good to share stories and fun interesting things.  I didn't say much or respond because I just don't have the energy to but, I listened.  Once Amber found us, Travis took his own break and then went back to find some people that he knew.  Amber and I kept moving and I was STILL SO GRATEFUL that Amber was still with me. 

My mind would wander a lot.  I had one headphone in my right ear and kept my other ear free to listen to Amber and Travis.  Off and on I would think about the other people I knew that were running, wondering where they were and how they were doing.  I would also think about my family and wondered what they were doing at that moment.  I also spent many moments praying, praying, and then praying some more.  I would also think about the route and what was coming up next.  These thoughts would come and go throughout the entire race.

The next major spot in the route was Dameron Valley hill.  This hill isn't as steep as Veyo hill but, it's LONG and just feels like it won't ever end.  I was already beat down a bit from Veyo hill and winded and frustrated.  I was not in the mood to tackle another hill but, I didn't have a choice.  Onward and upward, ha ha!  One thing that kept me going and trudging forward was knowing that Dameron Valley was the last LONG/BIG hill on the route.  I also knew that Diamond Valley wasn't too far away and if I could make it to that point, then I knew I could finish.  More tears came and, like I normally do, I kind of climbed inside myself and was very upset.  Amber recognized this and helped me talk out my frustrations, fears, etc.  While I couldn't just give up and Amber couldn't finish the race for me, it just helped to get all of that emotion out and breathe easier.  Amber was also AMAZING at just letting me cry it out, be upset, and not once did she seem annoyed, bothered, or frustrated that I going slower than I should have been, or that I couldn't run because my feet were killing me!  It was around this point (mile 9ish) that I can feel some horrible blisters either formed or forming on my feet.  Every time I would run, or try to, it felt like someone was stabbing my feet with a really dull, jagged knife!  It was painful!  So, I would just focus on walking really, really fast.  That would have to do for now.  We came across a few different people that chatted with us. First were these 2 ladies.  One of them was a jabber-box but, in an obnoxious kind of way. :-)  She was talking about how she had been kind of following us and now she was getting to pass us, something like that.  The next was a really cool, nice man!  I do remember his last name being Horlacher (I grew up with and had friends with the same last name).  He was AWESOME!  He was telling us about how he had heritage in the St. George Marathon.  I think it was his Grandpa? who helped or put together the first St. George Marathon.  He shared some really neat stories about how the aid stations worked back then, etc.  This man was what I needed because for the short time he was with us, he really helped to take my mind off of me and the pain and listen to him.  He was so nice!  Then, he went on his way.  I remember next seeing a hang glider dude cruising around and how I was wishing I could get on and fly to the finish line!

My first REALLY HARD and TOUGH spot came around mile 11 or 12.  I kept thinking, "Holy crap, I haven't even hit the half way spot!  Then I have to do what I've just done all over again!"  I've come to realize that unless it's like a 5k or 10k, telling myself that I'm half way done will not help me but, will only make me discouraged.  So, I won't be doing that anymore.

I FINALLY hit the 1/2 way spot (mile 13.1), which is right before Diamond Valley.  I LOVE running from Diamond Valley!  The hill going down from there is WONDERFUL and I just feel good running that stretch.  So, I was happy to hit that spot.  Except I had PAINFUL FEET at that point and when I tried to run, it was EXTREMELY PAINFUL!  I was frustrated but, I just kept going.   About half way in between Diamond Valley and the Snow Canyon lookout/entry point, Amber let me know that the BOOYAH group (you can read about where the BOOYAH group came from here: http://www.stgeorgeutah.com/news/archive/2013/09/07/sam-booyah-braydon-tribute-ride-remembering-beloved-athlete-friend-family-man-1/) was right behind me.  I went into panic mode and freaked out a bit and started to cry. My watch had said a different story, that I was right on my pace mark and was fine.  However, I didn't really trust my watch at this point, because the mileage was off so, I must've had everything else off.  The BOOYAH group was pacing to finish at a certain time and would be close to the cut-off mark.  I needed to have a healthy space away from them so I wouldn't feel pressured and worry about not finishing.  So, I cried and decided to get my butt in gear and get going and RUN!!!  It hurt, I'm not going to lie but, it kind of went numb the distance that I DID run!  I just kept going and going until I had to go back to a fast walk.  Amber looked behind and couldn't see the BOOYAH group anymore so, I was able to breathe and focus again.  Travis found us shortly after that stretch, around mile 15 or 16.  He let us know that the BOOYAH group was ahead of the original paced/finishing time and that "The Sweeper" ("The Sweeper" is a runner who paced the end of the marathon, to make sure people would get past the cut-off point, in the time allowed, if they stayed with or ahead of him) was way behind them!  I was SO RELIEVED to hear that!  There was hope for me!  I am SO GRATEFUL that Amber gave me that kick in the pants that I needed though.  It not only gave me the push I needed to get out of my pity-party and my rut, but it also gave me a fresh, positive outlook on the remainder of the race.  I kind of put my mind at ease and KNEW that I was going to make it past the cut-off time and finish this marathon!

Sometime after the Ledges, I started looking for people that I may know.  After The Ledges, it was hard to get past and see any runners or watch the marathon.  However, from the Ledges to the finish line, anyone could watch.  I started to get really sick to my stomach around mile 18.  I needed a port-a-potty NOW!!!!  Luckily for EVERYONE, especially Amber and myself, there was one just past there and I might live!  Ha ha!  It also felt good to stop, take a good breather stop, have some ICY/HOT rubbed on my legs, and kind of re-group!  I even saw LaRae (from Planet 94.1)running in a tutu, ha ha!  I think she's funny!

The next neat spot that I came to happened around/after the BOOYAH aid station, which was around mile 21 or 22.  I had finished filling up my water, drinking my Gatorade, when I see JJ and Brittney Farmer making their way to find me!!!!  I had completely spaced them coming back to find me!  It was SO AWESOME to see them and totally gave me an extra boost!  They had finished running the marathon and then turned around to come back and find me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  It really touched me and meant SO MUCH!  I felt like the LUCKIEST and MOST LOVED girl in the world, because running on one side of me was Amber and Travis Sheffield.  On the other side I had JJ and Brittney Farmer!  I had SO MUCH SUPPORT!!!!  It was SO COOL!  Shortly after that, Amber and Travis dropped off from running with us and went back to the BOOYAH aid station, to wait for the rest of the BOOYAH group to catch up and finish with them.

I remember getting very excited and thrilled when we started the drop off from Highway 18 down to where it changes to Bluff St.  The cut-off spot, where you had to be by 1pm, was at the intersection of Bluff St. and Snow Canyon Parkway.  I could see that spot and felt so much happiness, relief, and excitement because I had beat the cut-off time.  I had no pressure after that and knew it was just one foot in front of the other, until the end.  I could envision my friends and my family, all there at the end, making this all worth it!  I was pumped!!!!!

We hit the intersection and I happen to see my friend Nancy, her husband Pete, and her two kids (Preston and Michael)!!!!
Something about seeing friends or family on the course makes me super emotional, happy, and excited!  I was OVER-JOYED to see Nancy!  Nancy has been one of the main people, that has been with me through this entire journey from Day 1, and extremely supportive!!!!  She even went on a drive of the course to get to know it and see where good places would be to wait for me, and took notes!  She's just been awesome and really there for me!  So, I hugged her and had noticed she and my friend, Cheryl, had made THE CUTEST signs for the race!
 SO FUN!  So, then I took off again.  Nancy (who was pregnant and sick), started running with me!  She was so positive, happy, excited AND in flip-flops!  She stuck with us for a quarter of a mile!  I was SO IMPRESSED and loved having her run with me!  She wanted to get back and see me at the finish line, so she quickly took Pete home (he had to go to work) and hurried to get back!  She's AMAZING!

Pretty soon we hit the corner of Diagonal St. and Bluff St.  During my training, I've always kind of disliked the last stretch of the marathon, from Diagonal, onto the end.  The road is uneven and just crappy.  I have never liked it.  So, I was kind of dreading it and  wasn't too sure of how it would go.  We rounded the corner and someone had misters set up and they were also grilling hot dogs, I think!  The misters felt really good!  Ahhhhh!  Then came the popsicles!  I had heard that someone usually hands out popsicles on Diagonal St.  However, I just figured that by the time I came through, that they would be gone.  I was wrong, YAY!!!!!!!  They were still handing out popsicles.  Mmmmm, it tasted so good!  I didn't keep it long because I just couldn't run and hold onto the popsicle and suck on it at the same time!  Too much energy, ha ha!  We kept moving down the road, and my arches started to cramp up here and there.  So, I would stop and stretch out my arches and then get on my way again.  Meanwhile, Brittney and JJ stayed with me the entire time!  They were EXACTLY how I needed them to be!  They were happy, patient, kind, motivating, and encouraging!  They kept reminding me I was almost there and reminded me of my family, the medal, etc.  The end was SO CLOSE!  From Diagonal St., we turned onto 300 W.  I've always thought this was so funny and interesting because we pass right by a mortuary!  In fact, this year they had some pretty funny signs!  I remember one of them saying something like: "Dig deep but, not too deep!"  I was sad to see that the first aid station I worked at last year, was not there this year!  :-(  I guess they weren't able to find someone to handle it.  By now, the temperatures were pretty warm.  I was getting more and more cramped up and my feet were on FIRE!!!!!  From 300 W., we turned left, onto Tabernacle Dr.  What's funny was at this point I really couldn't see faces on the spectators.  I was kind of delirious and just focusing on finishing without chopping my feet off.  However, I could hear voices cheering me on, "Go Laura!", etc.  I didn't know who it was because I couldn't focus on faces.  JJ told me it was a man and woman and the guy was wearing all black.  With just that description, I knew exactly who it was!  It was Mike's boss and wife (Jason and Tera) and parents.  We had text back and forth as to what we were all wearing for the marathon!  They had finished a couple + hours before me and they had stuck around to see me finish!!!!!!!!  I thought it was incredibly kind of them!  Jason came after me when I hit the Washington County School Administrative building, because he could see I was having problems with cramping in my feet.  He gave me some salt pills to take, which I did, and cheered me on to keep going.

We saw a funny thing, as we were nearing the corner of Tabernacle and Main St.  There was 3 runners in front of us.  The middle one was a girl, in her 20's, running.  We looked at her and it appeared that she had a fluorescent yellow tail!  It was SO FUNNY to look at!  After studying her "tail", I realized it was her draw string and it had gone down between her thighs and had wrapped up behind her, causing her to look like she had a tail!  This gave me a good laugh!!!!

One of my other favorite things was around Main St. and 100 S., some people were handing out wet, cold towels!  That felt SO GOOD around my neck and gave some relief from the heat I was feeling.  I kind of woke me up too!  After this spot, we only had 5 blocks to the finish line.  Although, these aren't short Wellsville-style blocks.  The blocks on 300 S. are a little longer.  I didn't care though, because the end was near and I COULD NOT WAIT to see my family and friends!!!!  I could feel myself getting emotional, knowing it was near!