Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Meant to Be or NOT Meant to Be! THAT is the question!!!!

So, I'm scheduled to have breast reduction surgery on August 13, a week from TODAY!!!!  It's SO CLOSE but, feels like the universe is trying to keep it from happening.

Whether it's my insurance details, the Dr.'s office forgetting to fax stuff over to get my surgery on the admittance/docket list, the Dr.'s office forgetting to fax over the claim to my insurance or WHATEVER (the Dr.'s office claims to have faxed everything but, with the said faxes not showing up at both my insurance company AND the admittance department, I don't think that's just a missing fax)....I've just had it!!!!  I think one more blow and I will just forget the WHOLE DAMN THING!!!!  My parents and Mike's parents have been AMAZING and EXTREMELY SUPPORTIVE!!!!  My Dad keeps urging me on, telling me to NOT GIVE UP, and we'll make this happen.  I'm a ball of nerves and emotions.  Mike is upset, mad, stressed, and just over this whole thing.  He hasn't really wanted me to do it from the get-go and I don't think he really thought it would come to pass.  Nonetheless, here it is, staring me in the face, knocking on my door!  My Mom is supposed to come on Saturday, to help me with my kiddo's, etc. while I'm recovering but, even that is up in the air until we get the kinks, finances, and details all worked out!  With everything now being a last minute push because of the faxes supposedly getting lost in translation, I'm just SUPER STRESSED out!  This is SO out of my hands and it drives me crazy!  I hate waiting on other people to decided my fate.  It's like when I tried out for sport's teams and waiting to see if I made the team or not!  UGH!!!!

To most people reading this, you may think this is a small thing, not important, and stupid to worry about.  To me it is a BIG THING!  This surgery is something I've dreamed about for YEARS!!!!!  For it to be so close that I can touch it is KILLING me and to know I'm so close to having it not happen is KILLING me!!!!!  So, I guess this is TO BE CONTINUED.........

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Bryce Canyon 1/2 Marathon 2014

On July 11-12th, 2014, Mike and I head to Bryce Canyon.  My brother-in-law Steve and I were signed up to do the Bryce Canyon 1/2 Marathon.  So, Mike and I met up with and shared a room with my sister, Stacey, and her husband, Steve.  It was really fun to see them, hang out, and just be goofy.  Especially with my sister!  We're good at being crazy and goofy together!!!!  Steve was exhausted was exhausted from having to be up at 3:30am to work that morning.  So, he immediately crashed in the hotel room the rest of the night, after we picked up our race packet.
****We just HAD to go to the Prairie Dog Gift Shop!  I still get a kick out of the name, since it has a gross connotation to it!  The ice cream was from HEAVEN!!!!****

We got back to the hotel to get ready for bed, etc.  My friend, Jocelyn, arrived later on.  She hung out and talked for a bit before we went to bed.  Once she left for her room, I started laying out all of my race stuff.  I like to lay it out the night before, make sure I have everything out that I'll need, because in the morning I'm so nervous and not thinking straight, that I know I'll forget something.  Well, to my utter dismay, frustration, and anger, I first came to realized that I had forgot to pack my iPod w/ headphones.  To many it sounds silly that I would get so upset.  However, I CANNOT run without music.  I get bored and the thoughts running through my head get too strong.  My music helps energize me and push me and drowned out all the negative thoughts in my head.  I was SO UPSET because I had made sure to pack them!  Then, last minute I had thought of a couple songs I wanted to add to my running playlist.  So, I had taken my iPod out of my suitcase to download them.  Well, I got distracted forgot to pack them up again.  UGH!!!!!  I was SO MAD and VERY UPSET!  I totally let it get to me!!!!!  So, for the next MANY hours, Mike and my sister worked very hard to get songs downloaded onto Mike's phone.  They were able to get into my playlist that had some of my songs but, not all of them.  Mike worked until 2am getting my list put together.  So, instead of going to bed at my normal time, I went to bed extremely late, extremely anxious, extremely upset and didn't get the sleep I needed.  

Morning came!  I woke up around 4:45 and started getting dressed.  I grabbed my clothes and found I hadn't packed my lucky running shorts that I have ran EVERY race in!!!!  This upset me too!  I love to run in those shorts, especially for my races!  They keep me cooled off and they also have a couple hidden pockets to store GU, etc.  Instead, I had packed some regular workout capris, which is fine and all but, still not my shorts.  I usually wear my compression socks but, knew I'd get hot with compression socks AND capri's (plus it would look DORKY, ha ha)!  So, I took off my compression socks (which I have never done) and ran with regular ankle socks.  I was nervous about this but, in case I forget, it didn't make a difference not having them on!  I also had some goals: finish in 2:45 and finish feeling good, not sick, and not dying.
****Steve (my brother-in-law), myself, Jocelyn****
The 3 of us got out to the starting line.  Steve was warming up by jogging all over the place, ha ha!  We found Amber Blair and her husband, Brian.  Pretty soon it was time to start the race.  We took off our jackets, put them in the clothing van, and we lined up.  This year, as we were getting ready to take off, fireworks went off!  It was so AWESOME!!!!  I don't remember them doing it last year but, of course, last year was my first half marathon and I was a HUGE ball of nerves!

The race began and I was feeling fine!  I knew there were over a dozen people I knew running this race so, I kept an eye out for them, although I knew many of them were way ahead of me!  The first person that came upon me was Dustin Tollefson!  He's like a brother to me and it was fun to see him for the short time I did!  He looked awesome and was running along, like he didn't have a care in the world.  He made it look so easy and effortless.  He ended up finishing a lot sooner than he had planned!  GO DUSTIN!!!

The next person I saw was Sam Hill.  He's in my ward and he and his wife, Barbara, have been a HUGE supporter in my running journey!  He is always asking how my running is going, how my races are, and was even at the marathon when I crossed the finish line.  Such an amazing, sweet, motivating person!  He too was doing VERY WELL and was just trucking along.
Then I ran into Joel Kroff.  Joel is in my ward, as well as my townhome manager!  He and his wife, Miriam, have been another HUGE supporter of mine!  They've really has been so excited and proud of me!  He was fun to see!!!!  I had been ahead of him but, when I got sick at mile 5-ish, he surged ahead and beat me.
 ****Miriam & Joel Kroff, Barbara & Sam Hill, myself****

The downhill part, after 1 1/2 miles into the race, was awesome!  I had a blast and loved it!  I felt great and really was right on my time with where I wanted to finish! I had even met some new friends.  These 2 ladies were so awesome, motivating, and just plain fun!!!!!  Then.....mile 5 hit me like a brick wall!!!!
I usually always get sick to my stomach at some point of each race but, it's usually around mile 7 or 8 and it comes on slowly and then leaves fast.  This time it hit me FAST!!!!!  And it lasted longer than usual.  I wonder if a lot of it too was the fact that I was so upset with my headphones, etc. that my nerves got the best of me.  Who knows?  So, I got super sick and wanted to die.  It finally let up and I was able to start running again.  I was afraid I had missed Mike and my sister as they were driving along the route.  However, I had just started running again, when they passed me!  One part of me was EXCITED to see them.  The other part of me wanted them to come back and pick me up.  I was pretty upset after being so sick.  It really set me back on my goal and kind of deflated me.  My 2 friends were way ahead of me but, then I decided to make a goal.  I knew that I was not going to hit my timed goal.  I would have to run faster than I ever had and I just wasn't feeling 100%.  So, I decided I would make a goal to try and beat those 2 ladies I had became friends with.  I could NOT see them anywhere so, I didn't know if it would happen but, I would sure try.  So, I was trucking along.  Finally, I saw them!!!!!  It was couple miles but, I finally caught up.  I think it was around mile 10 or 11 that I finally caught up with them and then PASSED them!!!!!  I still thought they might pass me so I just kept pushing and pushing.  Then around mile 12 I had had it!   I was in tears and just wanted to be done!  My brother-in-law, against his will, came back for me!  It was just what I needed to finish the race!  He talked and talked and talked so I didn't hear my own thoughts but, just heard him talking.  It was perfect!  Then, when I had about a 1/3 of a mile left, I came upon my friend, Kendra Tollefson!  I ADORE Kendra and have loved spending time with her!  She and her husband, Dustin, are such a positive influence on me!!!!  Next, I saw Jocelyn.  Jocelyn is AMAZING!  Even, when she doesn't want to do these races anymore, because she's ROCKING it at Crossfit, she does them anyway because she is THAT good of a friend!  Then, I saw my sister and my hubby!  Such a happy moment when is start to see everyone because then I KNOW that I can do it!!!!  Together, the 5 of us ran together and they all helped me to finish strong!!!!


****My sister, Stacey, her husband, Steve, myself, Jocelyn, Kendra****

As I came upon the finish line, I felt GOOD!  I didn't feel like I wanted to puke, die, or even cry!  I felt amazing and felt so loved because I had so many people that stayed there to cheer me on, even though I finished SO LATE in the race!!!!!  That meant SO MUCH to me!  There was Mike, Stacey & Steve (my sister and her hubby), Jocelyn, Dustin & Kendra Tollefson, Danyelle Evans (a friend on made while training for the St. George marathon, Sam & Barbara Hill, Joel & Miriam Kroff, and Chad & Marci Nell)!!!!  I couldn't believe it!  I have amazing people in my life!!!!
I DID IT!!!!!

****Steve, myself, Jocelyn****
 ****myself & Danyelle Evana****
 
 ****Jocelyn, myself, Kendra & Dustin Tollefson****
 

 ****The Kroff's, Hill's, & myself****

So, the Bryce Canyon Half was done and over!  Honestly, I don't plan to do this particular race again!  I had to do it again to prove I could do it better!  I did it a lot slower, yes, but I felt stronger after and that's an accomplishment for sure!  Now, I'd like to try some other half marathons, like the Top of Utah Half Marathon.  That's definitely on my bucket list.

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Color Me Rad 5k 2014












On May 10, 2014, we participated in the 3rd annual Color Me Rad 5k, at the old St. George airport runway.  I first did this race with Shannon (my sister in law), when they came to St. George 3 years ago.  The following year, Shannon, Connor and Rylie did it with me and Rylie DID NOT enjoy it!  This year Shannon, Connor, Rylie, and Corie signed up to do it.  Connor ended up having Father & Son's campout the same time so, he chose to go to the over-nighter.  So, the girl's and I did it this year.  The night before, we went and got white t-shirts and stuff to decorate our shirts.  I made them so we would all match.  They turned out pretty cute.
The morning of the race came and the girls were SO EXCITED!  We all got ready and got our fun outfits on and headed to the race.  Corie was her typical demanding, grouchy self.  However, once the race started, she was so happy and excited!  Rylie and Corie took off running and they did so well.  Rylie was much happier this year and was happy and motivated the entire race.  Corie did awesome the first mile and looked so cute running!  After about a mile, she became really mad!  She didn't want to go the way we were supposed to and when I would try to go get her, she'd keep running the opposite way.  Finally, she threw herself to the ground!  So, Shannon and Rylie kept going the route of the race.  Corie and I cut through so she would stop freaking out.  When there was about 3/4 of a mile left, I finally put Corie on my shoulders and ran to the finish line with her.  Oh she was a crabby mess!  I'll have to think twice about taking her next year!  Rylie had a great time though and did so well!  I was proud of my girls!  
Its been a fun family tradition of ours and I look forward to doing it next year!

Monday, May 12, 2014

Dogtown 1/2 Marathon


Jocelyn and I, right before the race started!
 At the finish line, with my medal








I signed up for the Dogtown 1/2 Marathon excited but, also nervous.  I had heard about this course and it seemed hard and seemed SO LONG!  It started near the Harley Davidson store in Hurricane and ended clear out by Staheli Farms, in Washington Fields!  Then, the week it got here, I was wishing I hadn't signed up.  I was very nervous about it!  Previous to race day, I had ran the last few miles of the course, so I would know what to expect.  I think that was a mistake in some ways.  It was THE WORST part of the course, very uphill, and wore me out!  Not to mention, psyched me out!  

Race day was BEAUTIFUL and could not have been more perfect!  I found Jocelyn, my willing running buddy!  I also ran into a few other friends, which is always fun!  The race started out well,  I felt ok and was doing well.  Some parts I really struggled but, some parts I felt great!  We even passed some people!  That's always motivating!  As usual, I had a great time with Jocelyn!  We always have great conversation, she's a lot of fun, and she is also very motivating!  She doesn't let me slack too much but, also understands when I need to just do my thing.  The end was TOUGH!  We conquered the hill at the end but, I was pretty beat before that!  It's tough because right before you turn to go up the hill, you are just a couple blocks from the finish line.  So, mentally that was hard for me!  To know it was right there but, I still had 3 miles to go.  The last 3 miles were yucky and I just wanted to quit.  However, somehow, some way, I was able to finish with a new PR time for my half marathon!  That was a huge surprise and I was very happy about it!

Honestly, I think I'll do this race again, just to do it without psyching myself out!  I know I can do it!  I've done half's before!  It's just getting my head out of my butt and to get going!!!!!!

Inhaler Refill?! What?!?!

For the time, in EVER, I used up all my inhaler before the expiration date hit.  That has NEVER happened.  Which means, I am actually using it!  Which means, I am actually exercising, Ha ha!

Sunday, March 30, 2014

It's a Strange Feeling.....

In 2 days, it will be time to sign up for the 2014 St. George Marathon.  It's a strange feeling to not be signing up for it!  It feels like I just signed up for the 2013 marathon!  The excitement of it all is so fun and parts of me are jealous of those signing up.  There are also parts of me that are ok with not signing up and doing it this year!  The main and almost only reason I am not doing it this year is because I need to give my family more of my time this summer!  Last year my family sacrificed a lot so that I could be around for my training runs on Saturdays.  So, we didn't do a lot of camping or Saturday activities because after a run I'd usually be dead to the world the rest of the day.  This year I want to be able to go and do family things and not worry that I got to bed too late or that I'm not in town because I need to be able to do my long run.  Also, mentally, doing the marathon right now scares the crap out of me.  So, this year I will continue to do half marathons and keep my running up.  I'm also getting the breast reduction, which would take out of HUGE CHUNK of the training I would be doing.  However, 2015 I will be coming back to sign up!  I want to do it again to prove to myself that I can do it better and finish stronger!!!!!  I have it in me!

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Spectrum 10k 2014

 Everyone lined up at the starting line!
 Kendra and I, right before we lined up to start the race
 (Shannon, Laura, Nancy, Cheryl)
These amazing ladies came to see me do this race!
 Kendra and I, after we had finished the race!
Cruising down Snow Canyon, probably around mile 3.
********
On March 25, 2014, I ran in the Spectrum 10k race.  My goal for this race was to finish in 1:10.  I did this race for the first time last year and finished in 1:28.  Last year I struggled BIG TIME and had to have Amber hold my hand at the end to get me across the finish line.  This year I finished strong and I wasn't in tears!  I felt really good this time!  I love running in Snow Canyon.  #1: It's BEAUTIFUL there!  #2:  It's a lot of downhill so, a lot easier to run on!  We loaded the bus around 7:45 and headed up to the starting line.  When we got off the bus, it was COLD!!!  The win was blowing and it was very chilly!  I was glad to start the race so I could warm up.  The first mile went by FAST!  Then I started to hit the rolling hills and slowed down a bit, but not too bad.  Around mile 4 I started struggling with my breathing.  The wind was blowing against me so, that made it a little harder.  At mile 5, I ran into my friend's Nancy and Cheryl.  They were there waiting for me!  It was perfect timing because I was starting to get winded and discouraged.  However, seeing them gave me an extra boost.  PLUS, they had gotten me a smores topped donut and I wanted it BAD!  So, maybe that gave me the extra push to finish strong.  Once I got to about 5.75 miles in I got really excited because I knew I was very close to the end so, I started to pick up my speed.  Right after mile 6, my calves started to cramp up and get tired so, I had to slow down just a minute.  Then, I could really see the finish line, I saw my sister-in-law (Shannon, and my friend's (Nancy and Cheryl). At that point I picked up my speed, pushed myself, and sprinted to the end!  I felt AWESOME!!!!!  My watch said I finished in 1:13 but, I didn't really believe it because my watch had been off, like usual, so I just didn't trust it.  I was worried it was more around 1:15.  I checked my official time and I finished in 1:13!!!!!!  I am MORE than happy with that time!  I knocked of 15 minutes from my previous time!  That is HUGE for me!!!!

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

My Favorite Christmas Present

For a long time, I've wanted something that I could hang my race medals on.  Before I found anything, I've been hanging them on one, single push-pin.  Then, one day my friend Jocelyn sent me a link to a place called the York Sign Shop.  They did medal holder boards.  So, I began researching and looking at other places that did them.  However, I kept going back to the York Sign Shop because I just loved the look of theirs.  So, when Christmas rolled around, and my parents asked what I would like, I knew exactly what to tell them.  So, shortly after Christmas I went online and placed an order.  I LOVE the saying/quote that is on the board "Always Earned. Never Given." because it shows that I had to work hard to earn each of those medals and am SO PROUD of each of them!  Each medal has a different story, meaning, and memory behind them and I love that!

I think I have a pretty good start to filling this board up.  6 medals down and 7 more to go, and it will be filled.  I will be earning one of those medals in the Dogtown Half Marathon in February and another one at the Bryce Canyon Half Marathon in July.  So, 5 other races to fill in the other spots!

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

New Motivation to Lose Weight!

It's not secret that I'm Dolly Parton gone wrong!  I've always been larger than normal in the chest area!  In 7th grade, I was dubbed Dolly Parton and it was NOT a compliment!  A size C in 7th grade is just MEAN!  So, it would be no surprise that I have wanted a reduction for YEARS!!!!!  When Connor was born I was a DDD/E.  After he was born I went to a G and then later to an H.  Well, with all this running, I have had enough of "THE GIRLS!".  On December 17th, 2013, I went in to Dr. Klomp to get a consult and see if I could be approved, as a medical necessity, to have a breast reduction.  Let me tell you, that was one heck of an appointment!  Alllll pride went out the window!  

Then, the waiting game began.  Dr. Klomp had to submit all his findings and pictures (yes pictures, of just the chest area) to my insurance.  Well, I received word on January 3rd that I had been approved for the surgery.  The only bad news was that I had to have it done by January 19th.  #1: There was no way to have the surgery scheduled in that time period.  Dr. Klomp could ask for an extension though.  #2: I had already signed up for a half marathon in Feburary and was planning to run a 10k in March and another half marathon in July.  Given the fact that it's a 6 week recovery time before I could even THINK about running again, I would still have to train and there just wouldn't be the time that I needed.  So, after careful thought and racking my brain, I decided to put a hold to the surgery until July.

There were 2 major factors that factored into this decision.  The biggest and most important factor came from a suggestion that Dr. Klomp had made.  He knows I have been a weight loss journey and knew I still had weight to still lose.  Dr. Klomp suggested I wait until I'm closer to my goal weight.  He said I would be much happier with the result and I would also more likely have the results stick around longer.  If I had it done now, by the time I lost all my weight, the lift they put in would most likely disappear.  Of course, the other factor was my races and having time to train after recovery.

It was a TOUGH decision.  Knowing I'm approved right this minute is SO VERY TEMPTING!  However, I know I will be much happier with myself if I wait another 6 months and get more weight off.  It won't be easy.  I was disappointed when I didn't lose more this last year.  I expected to lose more.  So, I'm feeling overwhelmed and a bit hopeless that I'll lose another 50 lbs. before the surgery.  However, I will and I HAVE to do everything in my power to lose as much as I can.  

Mike is being supportive at helping me.  He cooks most of the dinners because he does SO GOOD at cooking healthy!  Soon I will be switching to 2-a-day workouts every other day!  I am already scheduled for another consultation in June because Dr. Klomp will have to resubmit everything to my insurance again.  However, nothing should change and I should still be approved. 

Friday, January 10, 2014

Crossfit Day #1!

Crossfit has always interested me!  I think it's right up my alley!  The only reason I haven't joined is because of the cost.  It's not cheap, by any means.  Well, Jocelyn joined a crossfit gym near her house.  She said I could get a 3 day trial of it for free.  I keep meaning to go but, it just hasn't happened.  It finally did though, on Thursday.  I got up at 4:40am because the class starts at 5:25/5:30.  I have to drive out to the DMV, which is in Hurricane.

I got there and it was "Active Rest Day".  Which, if you think about it, is an oxymoron!  So, first we did some stretching and used the roller ball to loosen up our muscles.  Then, we laid on our backs, with our hands under our butt and did leg raises to the song "Bring Sally Up".  Every time the song said "Bring Sally Up", we raised our legs.  Whenever the song said, "Bring Sally Down" we put our legs back down.  Man, that got tiring after a while!  So, that was our warm-up workout.

Then came the active part of the workout.  It went like this:
  1. Run 400 meters (1/4 of a mile)
  2. 150 jump ropes
  3. 50 sit-ups
  4. Run 400 meters
  5. 120 jump ropes
  6. 40 sit-ups
  7. Run 400 meters
  8. 90 jump ropes
  9. 30 sit-ups
  10. Run 400 meters
  11. 60 jump ropes
  12. 20 sit-ups
  13. run 400 meters
  14. 30 jump ropes
  15. 10 sit-ups
So, that ended up being 1 1/4 mile run, 450 jump ropes, and 150 sit-ups.  It was a HECK of a workout but, felt SO GOOD!  I was wobbly all day long after that!  I woke up this morning with extremely sore abs (especially directly under my rib cage) and sore calves!  I haven't been this sore in a long time.

Jocelyn is going out of town for a conference.  So, when she gets back, I plan to go back again.  Right now I'm still so unsure of myself and don't know people enough to go alone.