Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Color Me Rad 5k 2014












On May 10, 2014, we participated in the 3rd annual Color Me Rad 5k, at the old St. George airport runway.  I first did this race with Shannon (my sister in law), when they came to St. George 3 years ago.  The following year, Shannon, Connor and Rylie did it with me and Rylie DID NOT enjoy it!  This year Shannon, Connor, Rylie, and Corie signed up to do it.  Connor ended up having Father & Son's campout the same time so, he chose to go to the over-nighter.  So, the girl's and I did it this year.  The night before, we went and got white t-shirts and stuff to decorate our shirts.  I made them so we would all match.  They turned out pretty cute.
The morning of the race came and the girls were SO EXCITED!  We all got ready and got our fun outfits on and headed to the race.  Corie was her typical demanding, grouchy self.  However, once the race started, she was so happy and excited!  Rylie and Corie took off running and they did so well.  Rylie was much happier this year and was happy and motivated the entire race.  Corie did awesome the first mile and looked so cute running!  After about a mile, she became really mad!  She didn't want to go the way we were supposed to and when I would try to go get her, she'd keep running the opposite way.  Finally, she threw herself to the ground!  So, Shannon and Rylie kept going the route of the race.  Corie and I cut through so she would stop freaking out.  When there was about 3/4 of a mile left, I finally put Corie on my shoulders and ran to the finish line with her.  Oh she was a crabby mess!  I'll have to think twice about taking her next year!  Rylie had a great time though and did so well!  I was proud of my girls!  
Its been a fun family tradition of ours and I look forward to doing it next year!

Monday, May 12, 2014

Dogtown 1/2 Marathon


Jocelyn and I, right before the race started!
 At the finish line, with my medal








I signed up for the Dogtown 1/2 Marathon excited but, also nervous.  I had heard about this course and it seemed hard and seemed SO LONG!  It started near the Harley Davidson store in Hurricane and ended clear out by Staheli Farms, in Washington Fields!  Then, the week it got here, I was wishing I hadn't signed up.  I was very nervous about it!  Previous to race day, I had ran the last few miles of the course, so I would know what to expect.  I think that was a mistake in some ways.  It was THE WORST part of the course, very uphill, and wore me out!  Not to mention, psyched me out!  

Race day was BEAUTIFUL and could not have been more perfect!  I found Jocelyn, my willing running buddy!  I also ran into a few other friends, which is always fun!  The race started out well,  I felt ok and was doing well.  Some parts I really struggled but, some parts I felt great!  We even passed some people!  That's always motivating!  As usual, I had a great time with Jocelyn!  We always have great conversation, she's a lot of fun, and she is also very motivating!  She doesn't let me slack too much but, also understands when I need to just do my thing.  The end was TOUGH!  We conquered the hill at the end but, I was pretty beat before that!  It's tough because right before you turn to go up the hill, you are just a couple blocks from the finish line.  So, mentally that was hard for me!  To know it was right there but, I still had 3 miles to go.  The last 3 miles were yucky and I just wanted to quit.  However, somehow, some way, I was able to finish with a new PR time for my half marathon!  That was a huge surprise and I was very happy about it!

Honestly, I think I'll do this race again, just to do it without psyching myself out!  I know I can do it!  I've done half's before!  It's just getting my head out of my butt and to get going!!!!!!

Inhaler Refill?! What?!?!

For the time, in EVER, I used up all my inhaler before the expiration date hit.  That has NEVER happened.  Which means, I am actually using it!  Which means, I am actually exercising, Ha ha!