Friday, July 8, 2016

Concerned!!!!

Tomorrow I absolutely HAVE to do a long run!  I've been taking it easy because my knee has been giving me troubles, I'm in the middle of moving, and I've had a dang sinus infection.  So, I haven't been getting in my long, long runs.  I tried doing 13 miles a couple weeks ago but, my knee was really mad at me so, I only got 6 miles in!  GRRRR!

I had in my head that I had to do 13 miles.  Getting myself all psyched up for that.  However, I was a TINY bit off!  Tomorrow I'm scheduled to do 14 miles!!!!  I know it's just 1 mile more but, the last time I ran 14 miles was maybe 2 years ago?  So, I'm concerned, to say the least!!!!!  I'm still sick with the sinus infection.  I finally went to the Dr. and got on antibiotics but, it's only been a couple days on them and I'm EXHAUSTED from moving.  We'll see how tomorrow goes.

To be continued.....

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Marathon Training Notes

Training for the marathon will be a little different this time.  One thing that's obvious is that I'm training on my own this time, for the most part.  Whereas, last time time I starting training with a group.  Training runs were with the group also.  Luckily, I do have my friend, Heather, that will come do long runs with me, if she's available. 
 So, here is my training routine.

Monday: Crosstraining as well as either working the lower half or upper half of my body.

Tuesday: Hill repeats.  What this means is I either pick a hill to run up and down on or, I set my treadmill to a 5-7 incline and run up and down the incline.  I follow the following pattern:
5 minute warm-up
60 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
70 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
1 minute breather/break
80 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
90 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
1 minute breather/break
90 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
80 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
1 minute breather/break
70 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
60 seconds running uphill, then run back down.
5 minute cool down

It ends up being right around 3 miles when I'm finished, so far.  It is a dang good workout for me but, as much as I hate hills, I've enjoyed this and can feel myself slowly getting stronger.  If I have time, I will follow up with ab work or some other sort of strength training.
Wednesday: Crosstraining and working my upper or lower body (opposite of whatever I worked on Monday).

Thursday: This is my hardest training day, next to my long runs.  This is speed training and it is extremely hard for me.  I start by doing a 5 minute warmup.  Followed by 1 minute running at a fast, uncomfortable speed, then run at my 10k pace (12 min. mile).  I go back and forth like that, as much as I can.  Eventually I need to be up to 2 minutes of sprinting.  Right now, at about 30 seconds, I'm hurting and can hardly breathe.

Friday:  I either crosstrain & incorporate strength training OR (depending on how I'm feeling that week) I will take the day off to prepare for my long run.
Saturday: This is my usual long run day.  If I have something going on a Saturday, then I will do my long run on a Friday.  My long runs started 6 weeks ago.  It started with 5 miles, then 6 miles, then 7 miles, then 8 miles, then 9 miles.  This week (Saturday), I run 10 miles.  Mentally, running in the double digit amount of miles, is messing with my head.  I'm nervous.  I seriously can't remember the last time I did a training run in the double digits.  Yes, I did a half marathon in February but, the furthest I had trained was 5 miles!  Not the best idea in the world.  

The rest of my long runs will go as follows:
May 7: 10 miles
May 14: 10 miles
May 21: 10 miles
May 28: 11 miles
June 4: 12 miles
June 11: 13 miles
June 18: 13 miles
June 25: 12 miles
July 2: 13 miles
July 9: 14 miles
July 16: 15 miles
July 23: 15 miles
July 30: 15 miles
August 6: 15 miles
August 13: 17 miles
August 20: 19 miles
August 27: 21 miles (SCARY)
September 3: 23 miles (HOLY CRAP)
September 10: 15 miles
September 17: 12 miles
September 24: 10 miles
October 1: ST. GEORGE MARATHON

Thursday, before the St. George marathon, I will be carb loading.  I will also be driving down to St. George this day.  Friday will be spent eating carefully, picking up my packet, and hydrating, hydrating, hydrating!!!!

With the help of my friend Brittney, she put together this training plan for me.  It's different in a lot of ways from the first time I did the marathon in 2013.  Last time I didn't incorporate any hill training or speed training.  I also didn't start training as early as I did.  By starting earlier, if gives me a little bit of extra time for sick days, etc.  It will also give me a stronger foundation for my marathon day.  Also, the longest training run I did, before the marathon in 2013, was 20 miles.  So, to say I'm nervous about the 21 & 23 milers is a major understatement.  We'll take it as it comes.  The other significant difference is the main portion of my training will be in Cache Valley, rather that St. George.  A couple perks to this is: #1 I will be training in higher elevation, which will HOPEFULLY make it easier for me on race day, with St. George being a lower elevation.  #2: I will not be training on the marathon route over, and over, and over, and over, etc.  Thus, I won't find myself growing bored of the highway like I did in 2013.  Some downsides to this will be: I will be training on a new territory for me.  Sure, I've done a few long runs up there but, the most was maybe 10 miles???  So, I will have to find new places to train, to people to hopefully do long runs with, and I'm sure I will feel very alone at first.  I just think that if I can do all of things successfully, I will be able to feel a HUGE sense of accomplishment and pride, knowing I had to motivate and be accountable for myself and what I do and don't do.  I also drive Brittney crazy by texting her quite a bit.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Races Completed in 2016....so far!


St. George 5k 2016
Dog town Half Marathon 2016
Lake to Lake Relay 2016



These are the races I've completed in 2016, besides the Dogtown Half Marathon I mentioned in the previous post!  The Lake to Lake was a TOUGH relay!  It was a lot of hills and I threw up and cramped badly!!!!  If it wasn't for the people on my team, I would have much hate for this race!!!  However, we DID win the award for the best decorated van!

It Begins Again!!!

In 2013, I participated and completed my first marathon.  It was a proud, exciting, happy moment!  One that I will NEVER forget and wouldn't trade for anything!!!!  Time followed and I was asked many times, "When will you another marathon?"  I've always answered with, "For me, running a marathon is like having a baby.  You usually wouldn't want to deliver a baby until you've forgotten much of the pain, etc. that goes into having a baby.  Same with a marathon.  I need time to forget what it took to finish that marathon."  I would tell people, maybe next year, or not this time, etc.  For some reason, about August last year, I kept thinking about possibly running the marathon in 2016.  The BIG difference with running a marathon this time vs. 2013 is that I'm not naive and oblivious to what the training would be like, how bad it would hurt, how tired it would make me, etc.  This time I know what to expect and it scares me more than it did NOT knowing, which is crazy.  Also, this time I won't be in St. George when I am training the big miles.  That really makes me nervous!  In St. George, if you are running double-digit miles, it's super easy and convenient to go hit Hwy 18 and get your miles in.  It's point to point, rather than running a circle or a there-and-back route.  In Cache Valley, the last time I did a long run, I ran from Paradise, through Hyrum, through Mt. Sterling, and then Wellsville!  4 cities!!!!  This time, I am training most of it by myself.  However, I don't mind that a ton.  I'm used to running by myself because I'm not as fast as most of the people I start the run with.  I enjoy my time and it's a great way for me to strengthen my will power and mind control because I don't have anyone there to push me.

As months went by, I kept considering doing the marathon.  Then, I did the Las Vegas Ragnar in November last year and I STRUGGLED!  More than I ever have, I think!  I really second guessed myself and put the thought out of my head.  I did a couple more races but, it still never triggered the thought of doing the marathon again.  Then, the change of mind happened.  Backstory: the Dogtown Half Marathon & 5k were coming up in February.  I didn't want to do the Half Marathon because it's quite the hilly race and I am terrible at hills.  So, I decided I'd do the 5k (which is uphill the first half but, at least it was only 1.60 miles half way, rather than 6.5 miles).  My friend, Amy, had agreed to do the race with me and I was feeling excited about it.  Ok, so in December I submitted an entry to win a free Dogtown Half Marathon entry.  I completely spaced it because I really didn't want to do it.  Well, at the beginning of February I got a notification on Facebook, letting me know that myself and Amy had won a free half marathon entry!  EEEEEEEK!!!!!  What was I going to do?!?!!?  I had a decision to make and I didn't know which race to do!  I wasn't trained for a half, by any means!  However, I kind of liked the idea of challenging myself and to see what I could do!  Unfortunately, Amy wasn't able to do the half marathon so, I was on my own!  HOLY CRAP!!!!  I decided to do the half marathon.  I was SUPER NERVOUS!!!!!  Would I and could I complete this?  So, I went to my friend Amber and asked her the brutal question to get an honest answer.....do you think I can do this?  She didn't even hesitate with a yes, she knew I could do it!  I came to learn that a handful of others I knew were doing it also.  That helped me for sure.  

Race day came and I was a ball of nerves.  Luckily, I was able to pick up Amber and her friend to go to the buses together and go to the starting line.  At the starting line, I also ran into my good friend's, JJ, Brittney, Dustin, Mitch, and a few others I recognized.  It seems like each year they change something on the course.  I don't know why that is but, it drives me crazy!!!  Well, this year was no different!  The starting line was in a completely different spot than where it was the first time I did the half marathon.  This time you started going uphill, which is RUDE! It was a lot of rolling hills and my toes went to sleep within the first few miles.  I will say that I felt happy though and I felt good.  Along the way, I ran into a woman named Polli!  This woman was FASCINATING!!!!  She was on a mission to run 50 marathons before she turned 50! She was doing the Double Dog Dare, which is the half marathon course up and back!  Hard core!  Anyway, if it wasn't for her, I don't think I could've made it!  We leap-frogged each other the first 3/4 of it.  She was so motivating and would push me and keep me talking!  Polli inspires me SO MUCH!  At about mile 10, I really started to feel my lack of training.  I was hurting, tired, and really down!  At mile 10.75-ish you have to turn and head up this BEASTY hill!  It's a horrible hill!  One of those you think you're at the top, only to realize you're not!  Half way up the hill, around mile 11, I was doing the ugly cry and wanted to quit.  Amber and her friend Melissa had text me that they were coming back to find me.  I had no idea where they'd be.  Then, I got a call from Mike, who was waiting at the finish line.  He was calling to see where I was.  I just broke down sobbing!!!!!  He then did a very naughty, naughty thing!  He offered to come pick me up and take me home!  WHY WOULD HE DO THAT!  That was like offering alcohol to an alcoholic trying to quit drinking!  I said NO! and then carried on.  It wasn't pretty but, I kept moving.  Around mile 12, I came upon Amber & Melissa.  HALLELUJAH!!!!!!  They tried to get me running but, my get up and go got up and left!  I tried to run but, I was HURTING!  They gave me a bulls eye person to try and pass.  I just couldn't.  My goal was just to finish.  I am happy to say that I finished!!!!!  It wasn't even my worse time either!!!!  Out of all my races, besides the St. George Marathon, I was the most proud of this medal!  Sure, I didn't train like I should have and didn't finish with the best time.  However, I went out and did something HARD on my very own!  I earned this medal and I am dang proud of it!  I pushed myself beyond what I thought I was capable of!  My body supported me the whole crazy way!  It was in that moment that I though to myself ,"I am going to do the St. George Marathon!!!"