I saw this and loved this! I took me a long time to say "Yes, I am a runner." without cringing or laughing about it. Even now, I still sometimes make jokes about it. My reason is because I don't run as far or as long as a lot of runners do. One of the most frustrating and even hurtful comments/reactions I have had with some people make me feel like I'm not an actual runner. Usually it goes something like this: "Hey Laura, I heard you're running the marathon!" "Yes", I reply! Then they ask, "Oh my gosh, so you run the entire 26.2 miles?" I then laugh and say, "Oh no, I run-walk-run-walk" Then they get this almost defeated/disappointed look on their face and say, "Oh." Or else they'll say, "Oh, well anyone can just walk the whole thing and be fine." It makes me feel bad because I have worked and trained my butt off to get to where I am. I don't consider myself less of a runner or copping out because I don't run the entire thing. I know that I have improvement to make and mentally don't give myself enough credit with what I'm capable of. I also know that my body has limits. I think it's safe to say that a lot of runners out there aren't running with an extra 100+ lbs. on their body than they should have. It's my own fault that I'm the weight and size I am. I take full ownership for that. Give me a break though! At least I'm out there and trying to better my situation. So no, I'm not running the entire marathon, straight through. I do well the first chunk and can run a lot but, by the end it will come down to just keeping my body moving. It'll be a lot of running .25 and walking .25, just to get my body to the finish line. But, on a positive note, I can brag that I do have a pretty fast walk! LOL!

I can't believe anyone wouldn't give you credit for "running" the whole marathon despite you walking some of it. As a fellow "runner" I walk and run too. But gosh dangit it is still running and just because I walk sometimes doesn't diminish the feat of finishing my run! I mean, holy cow, you are running a marathon!! I'm so impressed! You are awesome and don't ever forget it. You run far more than I ever could. And let's be honest, probably way further than a lot of people can.
ReplyDelete